Stone Family Sayings and Suspicions

It would be fun to share family sayings that have been passed down.  Our family had some sayings that are pretty common.  My mother (Linda Eaton) often told us, "An apple a day keeps the doctor away."  My husband's family had one: "You attract more flies with honey than with vinegar." 

Ma enjoyed funny little suspicions which I assume were passed down to her.  One was, if you spilled the salt you had to throw a pinch over your left shoulder (to keep the devil away).  I had left for school one day and realized I had forgotten something.  I ran back in the house, got the item and was about to leave when Ma said, "Sit down first!"  It was bad luck to go into a house and then leave without sitting down! 

Any others out there!

Carol Kramp



Leave a Reply.