Picture
Left to Right: Phylis, Renee, Marjorie, Aunt Amiee (<-- UK relatives) Linda Eaton (US relative) Photo circa 1973


What great news, Katy:  58 individual hits on the website in one day.  We are up and running! 

Ah, yes, the old sayings and superstitions.  (See blog entry below) I miss the old sayings.  There may be some truth to them.  I try to eat an apple a day, and so far it has worked for me.  All of the sayings Carol mentioned are ones I grew up with, too, including catching flies with honey instead of vinegar.  How true that is!  Another superstition to add to the list is don’t put your hat on the bed or you will have bad luck.

On Tuesday I will be traveling to Rockland to look at the function room of the Rockland Congregational Church and to meet with the owner of the Brown Bag to see about catering for Saturday night.  If there is time, I hope to look at a couple of restaurants that are possibilities or catch up with one or two other caterers.  Aunt Mary and Uncle Emery have invited me to lunch, so my motivation may evaporate if the day is as lovely as today was.  We are having a true and rare spring here, and sitting on their deck, enjoying the warmth of the sun, watching the pines and oaks, and chatting with them may prove to be too relaxing.

Today’s photo is of our cousins in England.  I had the privilege of meeting them when I was only 12.  We were on our way home from Ankara, Turkey, and stopped in England for a 2 week visit as my mother (Pauline) knew it was a once in a lifetime opportunity for the family to see London, the countryside, and the relatives still in Bournemouth.  This photo was taken by Uncle Bill when he and Aunt Linda visited England in April of 1973.  I don’t know much about the women in the photo except Renee rode her bicycle to her work every day and they had a beautiful cottage garden filled with flowers.  I don’t know their last names, how they were related to Grammie (Linda Slack Stone) or each other, or if there are any other relatives still living, but these women are (left to right):  Phyllis, Renee, Marjorie, and Aunt Aimee.  The one on the right is (Aunt) Linda Eaton.  I hope to ask Aunt Mary if she has any information.  Perhaps Linda Jo has?

All the best,

Jill Martel





Leave a Reply.